• church interior
  • choir
  • congregation
  • congregation
  • congregation
  • teamakers
  • congregation
  • flowers

Parochial Church Council

What is (or who are) the PCC?

The Parochial Church Council or PCC, is the executive body of a Church of England parish. It is constituted as a body corporate by the Church Representation Rules set out in Schedule 3 to the Synodical Government Measure 1969, and consists of the clergy and churchwardens of the parish, together with a number of representatives of the laity elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) of the parish. Its powers and duties are defined by certain Acts of Parliament and other legislation, principally the Parochial Church Councils (Powers) Measure 1956. It has the responsibility of co-operating with the incumbent (rector, vicar or priest) or priest in charge in promoting the mission of the Church in its parish.

Formally, the PCC is responsible for the financial affairs of the Church and the care and maintenance of the Church fabric and its contents. These latter responsibilities are executed by Churchwardens. It also has a voice in the forms of Service used by the Church and may make representations to the Bishop on matters affecting the welfare of the parish. In effect it is the management committee.

PCCs were set up in 1919 as a successor to the vestries, which had had their civil functions removed in 1894 with the establishment of civil parishes.

The PCC is made up of members, elected each year by the congregation on the Electoral Roll, and  ex officio, the Vicar, Churchwardens and Parish representatives on the Deanery and Diocesan Synods. 
St James' PCC meets every two months and is chaired by the Vicar. 
Parish Reference Manual is available on the diocesan web site at http://www.salisbury.anglican.org/parishes/pcc.  
This provides summary information on legal requirements and good practice for PCCs, churchwardens and incumbents.

Members of the PCC

Representatives on the Deanery Synod

Lawrie Smithson

 Lawrie Smithson 






Representatives of the Laity

Pat Billett 


Adrian Burholt


Alison Carter
(PCC Secretary)

Jeremy Davidson

Jeremy Davidson

Rachel Gardner-Poole

Doreen Hutton
(Assistant (Stewardship) Treasurer)

Jenny Jones

Liz McAnaw

Christine Merry

Christine Merry


Michael Porter

James Salter

James Salter 



David Sibson  

Miriam Smith

Miriam Smith 

Mike Wilmott

 Mike Wilmott

Noel Woolrych

 Noël Woolrych 


Ex Officio


Keith Brindle

Revd Dr Keith Brindle




Revd. Steve Ibbetson

Associate Priest

Revd. Jennifer Haynes

Priest (Permission to officiate)


Clare Kent

Clare Kent

Paul Jakeman

Dr. Paul Jakeman



Minutes Secretary (not a member of the PCC)


Diane Coleman

Standing Committee: 

This committee is an executive body which meets from time to time as necessary between formal PCC meetings when a decision is needed.

Vicar, 2 Churchwardens, Treasurer, PCC Secretary, L. McAnaw, N. Woolrych.

The PCC  has been registered on the Register of Charities with effect from 4th February 2010.

Registered No.  1134059

The official name is: 
The Parochial Church Council of the Ecclesiastical Parish of St James, Southbroom, Devizes.
The working name is: 
St James' Southbroom PCC, Devizes.

Sunday 30 April

09.00 Holy Communion

11.00 Informal Worship

Church giving - click here for more information
All the ministries at St James' Church are financed through the generosity of its members.

St James' Latest Events

No events

The Noise Devizes

The Noise Devizes



Connect Groups - click here for more information